Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer
College of Forestry and Conservation

Partners

Fieldtrip discussion with managers and researchersThe Rocky Mountains CESU brings together over 500 natural and cultural resource scientist. This partnership is a virtual network of scientists, educators, technology transfer specialists, and land managers. The CESU also links regional resources including libraries, experimental forests and ranches, science laboratories, field research facilities, and scientific equipment, making them accessible to all partners in the cooperative. If you would like information about how to make your institution a partner in the RM-CESU, please see "How To" or contact the RM-CESU Executive Coordinator.

University Partners and Their Technical Representatives


University of Montana - Host

Jim Burchfield
Dean, College of Forestry and Conservation
jim.burchfield@umontana.edu
406-243-5522

Lisa Gerloff
RM-CESU Executive Coordinator
rmcesu@cfc.umt.edu
406-243-5346 

Blackfeet Community College

Lola Wippert
Director, Office of Sponsored Programs
lola@bfcc.edu406-338-5441 x 2208

Chief Dull Knife College

Michelle Curlee
Dean of Academic Affairs
mcurlee@cdkc.edu
406-477-6215 x 118

Colorado State University

Mark Paschke
Associate Professor - Restoration Ecology Forest and Rangeland Stewardship Department/Research Associate Dean, Warner College of Natural Resources
Mark.Paschke@ColoState.EDU
970-491-0760 

Little Big Horn College

David Small
Dean of Administration
smalld@lbhc.edu
406-638-3110

Northwest College

Ronda Peer
Dean of Extended Campus
ronda.peer@northwestcollege.edu
307-754-6123

Metropolitan State University of Denver

Jason Janke
Assistant Professor, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
Jjanke1@msudenver.edu
303-556-3072

Montana State University

David Roberts
Department Head, Ecology
droberts@montana,edu
406-994-4548

Utah State University

Nancy Huntly
Director, Ecology Center, Professor of Biology
nancy.huntly@usu.edu
435-797-2555

Salish Kootenai College

Adrian Leighton
Forestry Program
adrian_leighton@skc.edu
406-275-4948
 
Pat Hurley
Environment Science Program
pat_hurley@skc.edu
406-675-4800

Washington State University

Steve Bollens
Director, School of the Environment
sbollens@vancouver.wsu.edu
360-546-9166

University of Calgary

Andre Buret
Associate Vice President (Research)
aburet@ucalgary.ca
403-220-2817

University of Colorado Boulder

Tim Seastedt
Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology/Fellow, INSTAAR
timothy.seastedt@colordao.edu
303-492-3302

Patricia Rankin
Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
patricia.rankin@colorado.edu
303-492-1449

University of Colorado Denver

Ekaterini "Kat" Vlahos
Associate Professor and Director, Center of Preservation Research
kat.vlahos@ucdenver.edu
303-556-6502

University of Idaho

Kurt Pregitzer
Dean, College of Natural Resources
kpregitzer@uidaho.edu
208-885-6442

University of Northern Colorado

Jim Doerner
Professor, Department of Geography
james.doerner@unco.edu
970-220-7013

University of Utah

Matt Brownlee
Assistant Professor, Natural Resources Recreation Planning and Management
Department of Parks, Recreation and Tourism
matthew.brownlee@hsc.utah.edu
801-585-7239

Nan Ellin
Chair, Department of City and Metropolitan Planning
College of Architecture and Planning
ellin@arch.utah.edu
801-571-7200

University of Wyoming

Dan Tinker
Associate Professor, Botany Department
tinker@uwyo.edu
307-766-4967

University of Waterloo

Brad Fedy
Assistant Professor, Environment and Resource Studies
bfedy@uwaterloo.ca
519-888-4567

Heidi Swanson
Assistant Professor, Department of Biology
hswanson@uwaterloo.ca
519-888-4567 ext. 37387

Wildlife Conservation Society

Amanda Hardy
Assistant Director, North America Program
ahardy@wcs.org
406-522-9333, ext. 115

Agency Partners and Their Technical Representatives

Bureau of Land Management

Kate Kithchell
Associate State Director, BLM-Montana
kkitchell@blm.gov

Scott Davis
Central Regional Science Coordinator, National Science and Technology Center
scott_davis@blm.gov
303-236-6646

National Park Service

Kathy Tonnessen
Natural Resources Research Coordinator
kathy_tonnessen@nps.gov
406-243-4449

Pei-lin Yu
Cultural Resource Specialist
peilin_yu@nps.gov
406-243-2660

NPS-RMCESU
College of Forestry and Conservation
University of Montana
Missoula, MT 59812

USDA Forest Service

Jan Engert
Assistant Director, Science Application and Integration
Rocky Mountain Research Station
jengert@fs.fed.us
970-498-1377

Claudia Regan
Regional Vegetation Ecologist, Region 2
cregan@fs.fed.us
303-275-5004

US Geological Survey

Zack Bowen
Fort Collins Science Center
zack_bowen@usgs.gov
970-226-9218

Jeff Kershner
Northern Rocky Mountain Science Center
jkershner@usgs.gov
406-994-5304

Bureau of Reclamation

Lindsey Naft
lnafts@usbr.gov
406-247-7684

Natural Resources Conervation Service

Noller Herbert
Acting NRCS National CESU Coordinator
Noller.Herbert@wdc.usda.gov
202-720-2520

US Fish and Wildlife Service

Greg Watson
Chief, Office of Landscape and Conservation, USFWS Mountain-Prairie Region
greg_watson@fws.gov
303-236-8155

US Army Core of Engineers - Civil Works

Al F. Confrancesco
Technical Director, Civil Engineering Programs
US Army Engineer Research and Development Center
al.f.confrancesco@erdc.usace.army.mil
601-634-3182

Department of Defense - Office of the Deputy Under Secretary of Defense (Installations and Environment)

Alan B. Anderson
Chief, Ecological Processes Branch
US Army Engineer Research and Development Center
alan.b.anderson@usace.army.mil
217-353-6511 Ext. 6390