Faculty & Staff

Chair

David Shively

David Shively Professor and Chair, Department of Geography

Office: Stone Hall 212
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: david.shively@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Community and Environmental Planning, Water Resources and Watershed Management.


Faculty

Sarah J. Halvorson

Sarah J. Halvorson Professor of Geography

Office: Stone Hall 211
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: sarah.halvorson@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Water Resource Geography, Hazards and Disasters, Mountain Geography, Gender and the Environment, Central and South Asia.


Anna Klene

Anna Klene Professor of Geography

Office: Stone Hall 216
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: anna.klene@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Arctic and Alpine Environments, Climatology, Cryosphere, Geomorphology, Modeling, Remote Sensing.


Jeremy Sage

Jeremy Sage Research Assistant Professor; Economist & Associate Director, ITRR

Office: FOR 204
Fax: 406.243.4845
Email: jeremy.sage@umontana.edu

Christiane von Reichert

Christiane von Reichert Professor of Geography

Office: Stone Hall 210
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: c.vonreichert@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Rural Communities and Landscapes, Socio-demographic Analysis, Community Change and Planning, Rural Return Migration, Rural Economies and Livelihoods, Qualitative and Quantitative Methods, Transportation GIS.


Staff

Shonna Trowbridge

Shonna Trowbridge Director of Student Services

Office: FOR 103b
Email: shonna.trowbridge@umontana.edu

Devi Zdziebko

Devi Zdziebko Office Manager, Lubrecht Forest and Franke College of Forestry

Office: CHCB 405B
Email: devi.zdziebko@umontana.edu

Active Emeritus Professor

Jeffrey Gritzner

Jeffrey Gritzner Emeritus Professor

Office: Stone Hall 204
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: jeffrey.gritzner@umontana.edu
Specialization: 

Environmental change & restoration, Africa & Middle East


Adjunct

Rebecca Kranitz

Rebecca Kranitz Academic Advisor, Adjunct Lecturer

Office: LA 133I (Advising Office), Stone Hall 304C (Adjunct Office)
Email: rebecca.kranitz@umontana.edu

Affiliates

Alton Byers

Alton Byers Senior Research Associate, Institute of Arctic and Alpine Research (INSTAAR), University of Colorado, Boulder

Email: alton.byers@colorado.edu

Faith Ann Heinsch

Faith Ann Heinsch Physical Scientist

Office: U.S. Forest Service, 5775 US Highway 10 W
Email: faheinsch@fs.fed.us

Zachary A. Holden

Zachary A. Holden Ecologist

Office: 200 East Broadway St.
Email: zaholdenfs@gmail.com
Specialization: 

Ecology, Climate, Climate Change,  Remote Sensing, biogeography, fire ecology


Kevin McManigal

Kevin McManigal Lecturer, Geographic Information Systems

Office: CHCB 439
Email: kevin.mcmanigal@mso.umt.edu
Specialization: 

Cartography, GIS, Remote Sensing, Mountain Geography, Glaciology


Irena Mrak

Irena Mrak Assistant Research Professor

Office: Department of Geography, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Email: irena.mrak@siol.net
Specialization: 

Geomorphology, Glaciology, Hazards, "High" Asia, Mountain Geography.


Erich Peitzsch

Erich Peitzsch U.S.G.S., Glacier National Park

Email: epeitzsch@usgs.gov

Fernando Sanchez

Fernando Sanchez Affiliate

Office: Stone Hall 207
Fax: (406) 243-4840
Email: Fernando.Sanchez@mso.umt.edu
Specialization: 

Spatial-Temporal Data Analysis; Computer Applications to Social Sciences; GIS Programming; Soft Systems; Public Participation


Jennifer Watts

Jennifer Watts Post-Doc at Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute, Massachusetts

Email: watts@whrc.org