Join Today!

Membership Application (pdf format)

Hosted by:

College of Forestry and Conservation


Field Forester Awards

(as of 09/06/06)

It is appropriate that SAF recognize those members of our profession who actively practice professional forestry in the field. Practitioners are the true foundation of our profession. Practitioners often operate in nearly complete anonymity, yet their actions are one of the most important and visible contributions to the viability and understanding of our profession. This is where forestry truly happens and it is important that we recognize those who perform the art and science of forestry each and every day. There are numerous field foresters who should be recognized for their talent and accomplishments. These deserving individuals can be found in all regions of the U.S. Using presidential prerogative, 11 members - one from each of the eleven SAF districts - will be selected to receive an Outstanding Field Forester Achievement Award yearly. This will ensure that each region of the U.S. will be able to recognize an outstanding field forester.


2013 -- Frank Maus, Field Forester of the year
2012 -- Jared Richardson, Field Forester of the year
2011 -- Henry Fassnacht, Field Forester of the year -- Missoula Chapter
2011 -- Mark Boardman, Field Forester of the year -- Flathead Chapter
2010 -- Richard W. Trembath -- read press release


The purpose of this Award is to recognize foresters who have dedicated their professional careers to the application of forestry on the ground using sound, scientific methods and adaptive management strategies. The Presidential Field Forester Awards will be presented to individuals who have displayed uncommon talent, skill, and innovative methods to achieve a record of excellence in the application of forest management.


Due to regional differences in both application intensity and regulations affecting forestry operations, the award recipients will be selected on a regional basis. Using the existing organizational structure, each Council member will be asked to select and/or endorse an outstanding field forester from the District they represent. The Council person can use the state society chairs to nominate candidates and from those nominations select a nominee for recognition, or use any other process that would select a worthy candidate based on meeting the Eligibility Criteria and quality of work outlined in the Career Narrative.

A list of council representatives and their contact information can be found by clicking here.

District I Alaska, Inland Empire, Washington State
District II Oregon
District III Hawaii, Northern California, Southern California
District IV Colorado/Wyoming, Dakotas, Intermountain, Montana, Southwestern
District V Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Wisconsin
District VI New England, New York
District VII Allegheny, National Capital
District VIII Appalachian
District IX Great Plains, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky/Tennessee, Missouri, Ohio, Ouachita
District X Southeastern
District XI Louisiana, Mississippi, Texas



Please provide a statement, no longer than two pages, outlining the nature of the candidate's accomplishments. The narrative should include statements showing:


Individuals recognized for the Field Forester Achievement Award will be announced and recognized at the Annual Convention during the Awards Ceremony. The Award consists of an inscribed plaque. No support is available for recipients to attend the Convention but each is encouraged to attend to receive the Award and be congratulated by SAF members in attendance.

A short biographical sketch with personal photo together with highlights describing each recipient's career will be printed in the Convention Awards brochure and accompany the award.


Selection of candidates must be finalized and forwarded to the national office by June 15 together with each candidate's career narrative and the nomination letter containing the bases for selection. Recipients will be notified by July 1 to provide adequate time to make plans for attending the Convention Awards Ceremony.