Partners

Fieldtrip discussion with managers and researchersThe Rocky Mountains CESU brings together over 500 natural and cultural resource scientist. This partnership is a virtual network of scientists, educators, technology transfer specialists, and land managers. The CESU also links regional resources including libraries, experimental forests and ranches, science laboratories, field research facilities, and scientific equipment, making them accessible to all partners in the cooperative. If you would like information about how to make your institution a partner in the RM-CESU, please see How To or contact the RM-CESU Executive Coordinator.

University Partners and Their Technical Representatives


University of Montana- Host

Tom DeLuca
Dean, W.A. Franke College of Forestry and Conservation
tom.deluca@mso.umt.edu
406-243-5521
Lisa Gerloff
RM-CESU Executive Coordinator
rmcesu@cfc.umt.edu
406-243-6936 

Blackfeet Community College

TBD

Boise State University

Pei-Lin Yu
Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology
pei-linyu@boisestate.edu
208-426-3059

Chief Dull Knife College

Bill Briggs
Dean of Academic Affairs
bbriggs@cdkc.edu
406-477-6215 x 124

Colorado State University

Mark Paschke
Research Associate Dean, Warner College of Natural Resources
mark.paschke@colostate.edu
970-491-0760 

Front Range Community College

Jennifer Lee
Natural Resources Program Coordinator
970-204-8253
jennifer.lee@frontrange.edu

Little Big Horn College

Franklin Cooper
Chief Information Officer
cooperf@lbhc.edu
406-638-3161

Metropolitan State University of Denver

Jason Janke
Associate Dean
Jjanke1@msudenver.edu
303-556-3072

Montana State University

Tracy Sterling
Professor and Department Head, Land Resources and Environmental Studies
tracy.sterling@montana.edu
406-994-4605

Diane Debinski
Professor & Department Head, Ecology
diane.debinski@montana.edu
406-994-2949

Northwest College

Eric Atkinson
Assistant Professor of Biology
Eric.atkinson@nwc.edu
307-754-6018

Salish Kootenai College

Janene Lichtenberg
Department Head, Wildlife and Fisheries
janene_lichtenberg@skc.edu
(406) 275-4896
Adrian Leighton
Forestry Program
adrian_leighton@skc.edu
406-275-4948

Steven M. Vamosi
Associate Dean, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Faculty of Science
smvamosi@ucalgary.ca
403-210-8508

University of Colorado Boulder

Tim Seastedt
Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology/Fellow, INSTAAR
timothy.seastedt@colorado.edu
303-492-3302

University of Colorado Denver

Austin Troy
Professor and Chair of Urban and Regional Planning Department
austin.troy@ucdenver.edu

University of Denver

Robin M. Tinghitella
Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
303-871-3658
Robin.Tinghitella@du.edu

University of Idaho

Dennis Becker
Acting Dean, College of Natural Resources
drbecker@uidaho.edu
208-885-6442

University of Northern Colorado

Linda Black
Associate Provost & Dean of Graduate School, Research & Sponsored Programs
Linda.Black@unco.edu
970-351-1638

University of Utah

Kelly Bricker
Professor and Director, Parks, Recreation, and Tourism Sustainable Tourism Management
Department of Health, Kinesiology, and Recreation, College of Health
kelly.bricker@health.utah.edu
801-585-6503

University of Waterloo

Brad Fedy
Associate Professor, Environment and Resource Studies
bfedy@uwaterloo.ca
519-888-4567

Heidi Swanson
Assistant Professor and University Research Chair, Biology
heidi.swanson@uwaterloo.ca
519- 888-4567 x 37387

University of Wyoming

David Williams
Department Head, Department of Botany
dgw@uwyo.edu
307-766-2494

Utah State University

Dan MacNulty
Associate Professor, Wildland Resources
dan.macnulty@usu.edu
435-797-7442

Washington State University

Dan Thornton
Assistant Professor, School of the Environment
daniel.thornton@wsu.edu
509-335-3713

Western State Colorado University

Melanie Armstrong
Assistant Professor, Environment and Sustainability
marmstrong@western.edu
970-943-2248

Center for Large Landscape Conservation

Tyler Creech
Spatial Ecologist
tyler@largelandscapes.org
406 586 8082

Wildlife Conservation Society

Jon Beckmann
Science Director, Rocky Mountain West Region
jbeckmann@wcs.org
316-992-2927

Agency Partners and Their Technical Representatives

Bureau of Land Management

Michael Philbin
Branch Chief for Biological Resources and Science
BLM: Montana / Dakotas State Office
mphilbin@blm.gov
406-896-5041

National Park Service

Brendan J. Moynahan
Research Coordinator and Science Advisor
brendan_moynahan@nps.gov
406-243-4449

NPS-RMCESU
College of Forestry and Conservation
University of Montana
Missoula, MT 59812

US Geological Survey

Zack Bowen
Fort Collins Science Center
zack_bowen@usgs.gov
970-226-9218

Claudia Regan
Northern Rocky Mountain Science Center
cregan@usgs.gov
406-994-7972

US Fish and Wildlife Service

Greg Watson
Chief, Office of Landscape and Conservation, USFWS Mountain-Prairie Region
greg_watson@fws.gov
303-236-8155

Bureau of Indian Affairs

Rachel Novak
Climate Science Coordinator
202-219-1652
rachael.novak@bia.gov

USDA Forest Service

Jan Engert
Assistant Director, Science Application and Integration
Rocky Mountain Research Station
jengert@fs.fed.us
970-498-1377

Bureau of Reclamation

Buddy B. Fazio
Great Plains Regional Office
bfazio@usbr.gov 
406-247-7638

Natural Resources Conservation Service

Jacqueline Davis-Slay
National Coordinator, Cooperative Ecosystems Study Units (CESU) 
Jacqueline.Davis-Slay@wdc.usda.gov
202-690-2009

Christopher Watkins
Grants Management Specialist
U. S. Department of Agriculture, NRCS, NCSU
christopher.watkins@ftw.usda.gov
817-509-3509

US Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works

Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
US Army Engineer Research and Development Center
Sherry.L.Whitaker@usace.army.mil
601-634-2990

Department of Defense – Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense (Energy, Installations and Environment)

Alan Anderson
Regional Representative, Rocky Mountains
Alan.B.Anderson@usace.army.mil

Ryan Orndorff
DoD Program Manager for CESU Network
ryan.b.orndorff.civ@mail.mil

Lucas Walsh
Omaha District CESU
Lucas.v.walsh@usace.army.mil
402-995-2750

Stephanie Rostermundt
Omaha District CESU
Stephanie.a.rostermundt@usace.army.mil 
402-995-2083