Partners

Fieldtrip discussion with managers and researchersThe Rocky Mountains CESU brings together natural and cultural resource scientist. This partnership is a virtual network of scientists, educators, technology transfer specialists, and land managers. The CESU also links regional resources including libraries, experimental forests and ranches, science laboratories, field research facilities, and scientific equipment, making them accessible to all partners in the cooperative. If you would like information about how to make your institution a partner in the RM-CESU, please see How To or contact the RM-CESU Executive Coordinator.

Partner Institutions and Their Technical Representatives


University of Montana- Host

Alan Townsend
Dean, W.A. Franke College of Forestry and Conservation
alan.townsend@umontana.edu
Lisa Gerloff
RM-CESU Executive Coordinator
rmcesu@cfc.umt.edu

Blackfeet Community College

Melissa Weatherwax
Director Office of Grants & Research
melissa@bfcc.edu

Boise State University

Bob Reinhardt
Assistant Professor, Public History, Environmental History, History of the American West, History of Public Health
bobreinhardt@boisestate.edu

Chief Dull Knife College

Bill Briggs
Dean of Academic Affairs
bbriggs@cdkc.edu

Colorado State University

Mark Paschke
Research Associate Dean, Warner College of Natural Resources
mark.paschke@colostate.edu

Front Range Community College

Jennifer Lee
Natural Resources Program Coordinator
jennifer.lee@frontrange.edu

Little Big Horn College

Franklin Cooper
Chief Information Officer
cooperf@lbhc.edu

Metropolitan State University of Denver

Jason Janke
Associate Dean
Jjanke1@msudenver.edu

Montana State University

Tracy Sterling
Professor and Department Head, Land Resources and Environmental Studies
tracy.sterling@montana.edu

Diane Debinski
Professor & Department Head, Ecology
diane.debinski@montana.edu

Northwest College

Eric Atkinson
Assistant Professor of Biology
Eric.atkinson@nwc.edu

Salish Kootenai College

Janene Lichtenberg
Department Head, Wildlife and Fisheries
janene_lichtenberg@skc.edu
Adrian Leighton
Forestry Program
adrian_leighton@skc.edu

Steven M. Vamosi
Associate Dean, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion, Faculty of Science
smvamosi@ucalgary.ca

University of Colorado Boulder

Tim Seastedt
Professor, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology/Fellow, INSTAAR
timothy.seastedt@colorado.edu

University of Colorado Denver

Kat Vlahos
Professor, College of Architecture and Planning 
Kat.Vlahos@UCDenver.edu

Jody Beck
Associate Professor and Associate Dean, Landscape Architecture
jody.beck@ucdenver.edu

University of Denver

Robin M. Tinghitella
Assistant Professor, Department of Biological Sciences
Robin.Tinghitella@du.edu

University of Idaho

Dennis Becker
Dean, College of Natural Resources
drbecker@uidaho.edu

University of Northern Colorado

Chris Saxon
Director, Sponsored Programs
chris.saxton@unco.edu

University of Utah

Kelly Bricker
Professor and Director, Parks, Recreation, and Tourism Sustainable Tourism Management
Department of Health, Kinesiology, and Recreation, College of Health
kelly.bricker@health.utah.edu

University of Waterloo

Brad Fedy
Associate Professor, Environment and Resource Studies
bfedy@uwaterloo.ca

Heidi Swanson
Assistant Professor and University Research Chair, Biology
heidi.swanson@uwaterloo.ca

University of Wyoming

David Williams
Department Head, Department of Botany
dgw@uwyo.edu

Utah State University

Dan MacNulty
Associate Professor, Wildland Resources
dan.macnulty@usu.edu

Washington State University

Dan Thornton
Assistant Professor, School of the Environment
daniel.thornton@wsu.edu

Western Colorado University

Melanie Armstrong
Assistant Professor, Environment and Sustainability
marmstrong@western.edu

Center for Large Landscape Conservation

Annika Keely
Senior Conservation Scientist
annika@largelandscapes.org

Western Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies

Christopher Moore
Acting Executive Director
chris.moore@wafwa.org

Cathy Campbell
Grants and Agreements
cathy.campbell@wafwa.org

Wildlife Conservation Society

Jeff Burrell
Northern Rockies and Greater Yellowstone Program
jburrell@wcs.org

The Ember Alliance

Meg Matonis
Wildland Fire Analyst
megan@emberalliance.org

Smithsonian Institution

Scott Miller
Chief Scientist, Office of the Undersecretary for Science and Research
MillerS@si.edu

Wildlife Restoration Foundation

Jule Anton Randall
President
Jantonrandall@wildlifeandparks.org

Partner Agencies and Their Technical Representatives

Bureau of Land Management

Michael Philbin
Branch Chief for Biological Resources and Science
BLM: Montana / Dakotas State Office
mphilbin@blm.gov
406-896-5041

National Park Service

Brendan J. Moynahan
Research Coordinator and Science Advisor
brendan_moynahan@nps.gov
406-243-4449

NPS-RMCESU
College of Forestry and Conservation
University of Montana
Missoula, MT 59812

US Geological Survey

Zack Bowen
Fort Collins Science Center
zack_bowen@usgs.gov
970-226-9218

Claudia Regan
Northern Rocky Mountain Science Center
cregan@usgs.gov
406-994-7972

US Fish and Wildlife Service

Sean Finn
Science Coordinator for Regions 5 & 7
sean_finn@fws.gov

Bureau of Indian Affairs

Rachel Novak
Climate Science Coordinator
202-219-1652
rachael.novak@bia.gov

USDA Forest Service

TBD

Bureau of Reclamation

Jason Gibbons
Environmental and Cultural Resources Group
jgibbons@usbr.gov
406-247-7632

Natural Resources Conservation Service

Jacqueline Davis-Slay
National Coordinator, Cooperative Ecosystems Study Units (CESU) 
Jacqueline.Davis-Slay@wdc.usda.gov
202-690-2009

Ronald Harris
Grants Management Specialist
ronald.harris@usda.gov

US Army Corps of Engineers - Civil Works

Sherry Whitaker
CESU Program Manager
US Army Engineer Research and Development Center
Sherry.L.Whitaker@usace.army.mil
601-634-2990

Department of Defense – Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense (Energy, Installations and Environment)

Jim Allen Regional Representative, Rocky Mountains
james.p.allen@usace.army.mil

Ryan Orndorff
DoD Program Manager for CESU Network
ryan.b.orndorff.civ@mail.mil