The Climate Change Studies minor was developed by members of a climate change curriculum task force convened by then Provost Royce Engstrom in December 2007. The task force, co-chaired by Dr. Steve Running and Dr. Dane Scott, included 29 faculty members from across campus, representing a wide range of disciplines. 

The Climate Change Studies minor is coordinated by a program director, program coordinator, and steering committee made up of faculty from each of the science, society and solutions areas.

Climate Change Faculty Steering Committee:

Dr. Steve Running, Regent’s Professor of Ecology, Director of Numerical Terradynamics Simulation Group 
Dr. Nicky Phear, Instructor and Program Coordinator, Climate Change Studies Program 
Dr. Derek Kellenberg, Chair and Associate Professor, Department of Economics 
Dr. Anna Klene, Associate Professor, Department of Geography 
Dr. Robin Saha, Associate Professor, Department of Environmental Studies 
Dr. Steve Schwarze, Chair and Associate Professor, Department of Communication Studies 
Dr. Dane Scott, Associate Professor of Ethics, Director of the Center for Ethics, Department of Society and Conservation 
Dr. Laurie Yung, Associate Professor of Natural Resource Social Science

Additional faculty members & university affiliates teach courses that are a part of the Climate Change Studies minor:

Dr. Ashley Ballantyne, Assistant Professor of Bioclimatology 
Dr. Len Broberg, Director and Professor, Environmental Studies 
Dr. Cory Cleveland, Associate Professor of Soil Science 
Dr. Joel Harper, Associate Professor, Geosciences
Dr. Ulrich Kamp, Associate Professor, Geography
Dr. Peter Koehn, Professor, Political Science
Dr. Bradley Layton, Program Director, Energy Technology Program
Dr. Johnnie Moore, Chair and Professor, Geosciences 
Cherie Peacock, UM Sustainability Coordinator
Dr. Rebecca Richards, Professor, Sociology
Dr. Dan Spencer, Associate Professor, Environmental Studies
Lisa Swallow, Program Director, Business Technology