The Department of Geography offers the following degrees:

  • Bachelor of Arts (B.A.).
  • Bachelor of Sciences (B.S.).
  • Master of Sciences (M.S.).
  • Certificate in GIS Sciences and Technologies.
  • Minor in Mountain Studies.
  • Minor in Teaching Geography.

We are also part of these two interdisciplinary degrees:

  • Minor in Climate Change Studies.
  • Minor in International Development Studies.

The undergraduate program provides a broad liberal education, it qualifies graduates for a variety of professional jobs, and it prepares students who excel for graduate studies in geography, planning, GIS, or related fields.  

The graduate program prepares candidates for a relatively greater range of employment, including teaching in community and junior colleges, and for doctoral studies in geography and allied disciplines.